Accidents with Out of State Drivers Call for Diligent Information Gathering
Accidents occur on a regular basis. Luckily, most of the time, crashes are minor, and nobody is seriously hurt. Sometimes, however, crashes are more severe. In these cases, it is important to follow the basic guidelines after a crash, including calling the police and exchanging information with the other driver. Accidents with out of state drivers are no different. It is essential that you gather data necessary to proceed with legal action, should that become necessary.
Drivers Must Follow Local Laws
Drivers must obey the local laws of the state in which they are driving. It is up to the driver to review applicable traffic laws before they drive in another state. While many of the laws are similar between states, some important differences may include right turn on red laws and driving in high occupancy lanes (HOV).
Insurance and Out-of-State Drivers
Insurance requirements often differ from state to state. Some states, such as Arizona, require you to have liability insurance with levels of at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 for more than one person, and $10,000 property damage. If you are involved in an accident with an out-of-state driver, the insurance company must work out the details of the situation. If the insurance company refuses to cover the difference, legal action may be necessary.
Contact the Police to Report the Accident
When you are involved in an accident, you should immediately call the police. The police will respond and will gather information at the accident scene. Statements will be taken from drivers, passengers, and witnesses. You should take photos, if it is safe to do so. Obtain contact information from the other driver, including local contact information and where the driver is staying while in the area.
Arizona is a Comparative Negligence State
Arizona follows the pure comparative negligence law. This means that both parties will be assigned a portion of responsibility for the accident. Any damages, including medical costs, should be allocated according to the percentage of responsibility of the driver. The police report, photos, statements, and other information will be used to assign an amount of negligence to each party.
Legal Action May Be Necessary
Car insurance companies may be able to work out a settlement. However, if you were seriously injured, the settlement offer may be less than appropriate. Before settling with an insurance adjuster, contact an attorney to discuss your case. Cases with out-of-state drivers may be more complicated, but they also may be settled more readily.
If you were hurt in an accident, call the experienced personal injury attorneys at Udall Shumway PLC for a consultation.
This blog should be used for informational purposes only. It does not create an attorney-client relationship with any reader and should not be construed as legal advice. If you or someone you know wishes to seek the help of an experienced personal injury attorney regarding Accidents with Out of State Drivers, or other personal injury matters, call Mesa AZ Personal Injury Attorney Jason C. Chapman at 480-461-5302 or contact him at firstname.lastname@example.org for a free consultation to discuss your rights and options. Udall Shumway PLC is located in Mesa, Arizona and is a full service law firm. We assist Individuals, families, businesses, schools and municipalities in Mesa and the Phoenix/East Valley.